



27TH International Conference on Pattern Recognition December 01-05, 2024, Kolkata, India

CALL FOR COMPETITIONS

General Chairs

Umapada Pal, India Josef Kittler, UK Anil Jain, USA

Program Chairs

Rama Chellappa, USA Apostolos Antonacopoulos, UK Cheng-Lin Liu, China Subhasis Chaudhuri, India

Workshop Chairs

P. Shivakumara, UK Stephanie Schuckers, USA Jean-Marc Ogier, France Prabir Bhattacharya, Canada

Tutorial Chairs

B. B. Chaudhuri, India Guoving Zhao, Finland Michael R. Jenkin, Canada

Competition Chairs

Richard Zanibbi, USA Lianwen Jin, China L. Likforman-Sulem, France

Doctoral Consortium Chairs

Daniel Lopresti, USA Véronique Eglin, France Mayank Vatsa, India

Publicity Chairs

Dipti Prasad Mukherjee, India Bob Fisher, UK Xiaojun Wu, China

Publications Chairs

Wataru Ohyama, Japan Ananda S. Chowdhury, India

Awards Committee Chair Arpan Pal, India

International Liaison / Visa Chairs

Balasubramanian Raman Yue Lu, China

Finance Chairs

Kaushik Roy, India Michael Blumenstein, Australia

Organizing Chairs

Saumik Bhattacharya, India Palash Ghosal, India Sk Md Obaidullah, India

The ICPR 2024 Organizing Committee invites proposals for competitions that aim at evaluating the performance of algorithms and methods related to pattern recognition.

You are cordially invited to submit a proposal, that should contain the following information:

- Contest title and abstract
- A brief description of the competition, including what the particular task under evaluation is, why this competition is of interest to the ICPR community, and the expected number of participants
- An outline of the competition schedule
- Description of the dataset to be used, and the evaluation process and metrics for submitted methods
- The names, contact information, and brief CVs of the competition organizers, outlining previous experience in performance evaluation and/or organizing competitions

The following rules shall apply to the accepted **Competitions:**

- The name of competition must be standardized by starting with "ICPR 2024" e.g. "ICPR 2024 Competition on ..." or "ICPR 2024 ... Competition."
- Datasets used in the competitions must be made available Track 6: Biomedical Imaging and after the end of the competitions. Specifically, the training data and ground truth must be publicly released and there must be a way to evaluate performance on a test set. This could take the form of an evaluation server, or the test data, ground truth, and evaluation script could be made publicly available.
- Evaluation methodologies and metrics used must be described in detail so that results can be replicated later. Evaluation scripts must be released afterwards.
- Each competition has to be presented with a poster at a prominent place at the conference venue, and some good

Track Chairs

Track 1: Artificial Intelligence, Machine Learning for Pattern Analysis

Larry O'Gorman, USA Petia Radeva, Spain Sushmita Mitra, India Dacheng Tao, Australia Jiliang Tang, USA

Track 2: Computer and Robot Vision

Maja Pantic, UK C. V. Jawahar, India João Paulo Papa, Brazil Gang Hua, USA Junwei Han, China

Track 3: Image, Speech, Signal and Video processing

P. K. Biswas, India Shang-Hong Lai, Taiwan Hugo Jair Escalante, Mexico Sergio Escalera, Spain Prem Natarajan, USA

Track 4: Biometrics and Human Computer Interaction

Massimo Tistarelli, Italy Wei-Shi Zheng, China Richa Singh, India Vishal Patel, USA Jian Wang, USA

Track 5: Document Analysis and Recognition

Xiang Bai, China Josep Llados, Spain Mita Nasipuri, India David Doermann, USA

Bioinformatics

Xiaoyi Jiang, Germany Seong-Whan Lee, Korea J. Mukhopadhayaya, India

Women in ICPR Chairs

Ingela Nyström, Sweden Alexandra B. Albu, Canada Jing Dong, China Sarbani Palit, India

Sponsorship Chairs

P. J. Narayanan, India Yasushi Yagi, Japan Venu Govindaraju, USA Alberto Del Bimbo, Italy

ORGANIZING / TECHNICAL PARTNERS











27TH International Conference on Pattern Recognition December 01-05, 2024, Kolkata, India

CALL FOR COMPETITIONS

General Chairs

Umapada Pal, India Josef Kittler, UK Anil Jain, USA

Program Chairs

Rama Chellappa, USA Apostolos Antonacopoulos, UK Cheng-Lin Liu, China Subhasis Chaudhuri, India

Workshop Chairs

P. Shivakumara, UK Stephanie Schuckers, USA Jean-Marc Ogier, France Prabir Bhattacharya, Canada

Tutorial Chairs

B. B. Chaudhuri, India Guoving Zhao, Finland Michael R. Jenkin, Canada

Competition Chairs

Richard Zanibbi, USA Lianwen Jin, China L. Likforman-Sulem, France

Doctoral Consortium Chairs

Daniel Lopresti, USA Véronique Eglin, France Mayank Vatsa, India

Publicity Chairs

Dipti Prasad Mukherjee, India Bob Fisher, UK Xiaojun Wu, China

Publications Chairs

Wataru Ohyama, Japan Ananda S. Chowdhury, India

Awards Committee Chair

Arpan Pal, India

International Liaison / Visa Chairs

Balasubramanian Raman Yue Lu, China

Finance Chairs

Kaushik Roy, India Michael Blumenstein, Australia

Organizing Chairs

Saumik Bhattacharya, India Palash Ghosal, India Sk Md Obaidullah, India

competitions may be selected for oral presentation during ICPR 2024.

- Competitions must have a sufficient number of participants (greater or equal to 3) to be able to draw meaningful conclusions.
- Reports (full papers) on each competition will be reviewed and, if accepted (the competition ran according to plan, attracted a minimum level of participation and is appropriately described), will be published in the ICPR 2024 conference proceedings.
- Participants should not have access to the ground-truth test dataset until the end of the competition. The evaluation should be done by the organizers.

Submission Guidelines & Inquiries

All proposals should be submitted by electronic mail to the Competition Chairs (Lian Wen Jin, Richard Zanibbi, and Laurence Likforman-Sulem) via:

icpr2024competition@gmail.com. We encourage competition proposals with a solid plan to remain active and challenging for the community over and above ICPR 2024.

For any inquiries you may have regarding the competitions, please contact us via above email.

Important dates (Pacific time - 23:59 PDT)

March 31, 2024 April 8, 2024 April 18, 2024 July 21, 2024 August 18, 2024

September 02, 2024 October 28, 2024 December 1-5, 2024

Competition Proposal Due Competition Acceptance Notification Individual Competition Websites are Live Deadline for competition participants Initial Submission of Competition Reports Deadline

Camera-Ready Papers Due Communicate Winners to Chairs Presentation at ICPR Conference **Track Chairs**

Track 1: Artificial Intelligence, Machine Learning for Pattern Analysis

Larry O'Gorman, USA Petia Radeva, Spain Sushmita Mitra, India Dacheng Tao, Australia Jiliang Tang, USA

Track 2: Computer and Robot Vision

Maja Pantic, UK C. V. Jawahar, India João Paulo Papa, Brazil Gang Hua, USA Junwei Han, China

Track 3: Image, Speech, Signal and Video processing

P. K. Biswas, India Shang-Hong Lai, Taiwan Hugo Jair Escalante, Mexico Sergio Escalera, Spain Prem Natarajan, USA

Track 4: Biometrics and Human Computer Interaction

Massimo Tistarelli, Italy Wei-Shi Zheng, China Richa Singh, India Vishal Patel, USA Jian Wang, USA

Track 5: Document Analysis and Recognition

Xiang Bai, China Josep Llados, Spain Mita Nasipuri, India David Doermann, USA

Track 6: Biomedical Imaging and **Bioinformatics**

Xiaoyi Jiang, Germany Seong-Whan Lee, Korea J. Mukhopadhayaya, India

Women in ICPR Chairs

Ingela Nyström, Sweden Alexandra B. Albu, Canada Jing Dong, China Sarbani Palit, India

Sponsorship Chairs

P. J. Narayanan, India Yasushi Yagi, Japan Venu Govindaraju, USA Alberto Del Bimbo, Italy





